Book Blitz & Excerpt: The Wise One + Giveaway

The Wise One Blitz Banner-copy

The Wise One
by K.T. Anglehart
(The Scottish Scrolls, #1)
Publication date: October 28th 2020
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult

Mckenna’s never thought much of her nightmares, but on her seventeenth birthday, a vivid dream of burning at the stake awakens her dormant abilities, thrusting her into a world where faeries are real, spirits hold a grudge, and a High Priestess obsessed with a 16th-century prophecy is tracking her every move.

Now, her overprotective dads, Seán and Andre, are forced to tell her the truth—they know who her birth mother is, and her life is not the surrogate story she’s always been told. Abigail, Mckenna’s mom, is some sort of mystic, and Mckenna a Wise One.

Whatever the hell that means.

With the help of a persistent little wren and company of a newfound friend, Mckenna journeys to Ireland in search of her mother and real answers. Along the way, she learns to harness her innate magic and trust her intuition, as best she can anyway—Cillian, a kind and passionate delegate who crosses her path, is proving much harder to read.

Only her mother could truly help her halt her ill fate and prepare her for what’s to come . . . before she gives in to the darkness she knows is buried deep within.

Goodreads / Amazon

The Wise one

EXCERPT:

Bruised and battered, the young woman was dragged through the screaming, unruly mob. Her wrists were bound behind her by a rope as thick as the noose she now faced.

“Buidseach! Buidseach!” Witch. Witch.

“Bàsachadh!”

Die.

She halted in front of the noose, unperturbed, for she knew her death would end swiftly. The man who held the end of her rope looked from her calm expression to the noose, and let out a shrill laugh.

“A quick snap of the neck, aye, Bessie girl? You don’t think you’re getting off that easy, do you? Nah, that there isn’t for your kind.”

The ugly man, towering and troll-like, hauled her further on like a rag doll, finally leading her to a pit loaded with broken wood fragments, branches, and logs.

She was going to be burned alive.

In that instant, her body trembled with the fear she had been trying so desperately to conceal. Of dying, no—she knew this life would not be her last, and she was ready to part ways with this physical body. But she would be lying to herself if she said she hadn’t been hoping for a less painful demise.

He tightened the rope from her wrists around the wood banister that stood erect in the centre of the pit, then secured more rope round her ankles. “Spill your guts, now or never, buidseach,” he spat.

The woman scanned the crowd. Foolish, blind, she thought. They had no idea what would become of their Earth. No, she did not regret her actions. And if she had to burn for them, then so be it.

She held her chin up and addressed the spectators. Her voice was steady, knowing. “There will come a day when your fate shall depend upon a witch such as me—and you will beg for mercy.” The crowd cackled and spat back, simultaneously enraged and amused. But no one laughed louder than the troll-man. “Devil-worshipping hag.”

He lowered his torch to the base of the pit, and the flames caught quickly. She watched them crawl towards her boots, but her eyes were forced shut by the rising smoke. In an instant, beads of sweat leaked like rain on her forehead, and her lungs swelled to twice their size.

Just when she hoped she might pass out from the heat, the flames grew larger, now licking the base of her legs. What followed was an acute, unfathomable pain. The flames travelled higher, higher, until they enveloped the lower half of her body—and she could no longer bear the sheer agony of her skin melting away.

 

Author Bio:

Katrina Tortorici Anglehart is a born and bred Italian-Canadian from Montreal. A devoted academic, she holds a Bachelor of Arts in Journalism; a graduate certificate in Scriptwriting; and a Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing. After dabbling in TV writing and working as a digital marketing content manager, she left the nine to five to launch her freelance editing and coaching career. Today, she relishes in helping aspiring authors to develop and refine their stories.

Besides English, Katrina speaks French, Italian, and Spanglish. When she’s not writing, diving into magical reads, or Netflixing, she’s travelling with her favourite human–her high-school-sweetheart-turned-husband, Andy–and obsessing over her pet bunny, Magic, and newly rescued pup, Nessie. Katrina currently lives in Toronto, Ontario.

Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter / Instagram

 

GIVEAWAY!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Hosted by:
XBTBanner1

Book Blitz: Sight of Morrow Gone, by Lauren C. Sergeant

sight of morrow gone

 

Sight of Morrow Gone
by Lauren C. Sergeant
Children of the Glaring Dawn, Book 3

Young Adult Fantasy

Published Date: Feb 20, 2021

Publisher: INtense Publications LLC

 

photo add-to-goodreads-button_zpsc7b3c634.png

Arriving at the capital as captives, Ihva and Jasper find themselves divided once more. Things have changed in Agda, though, and the situation reveals itself to be darker and more dire than either of them imagined. A fateful decision leaves them on the run, pursuing the salvation of Gant to protect its people from the new nemesis. As events unfold, Ihva and Jasper must each make choices concerning their love, their loyalty, and their lives, forcing them to face their fears and each other.

Will they maintain the courage to fight the war against the deepening Shadow, and more pressingly, can they find a way to fight it together?

Purchase Link

Publisher

Sight of Morrow Gone Blitz

About The Author

Lauren C. Sergeant, author of the Children of the Glaring Dawn series, adventures through life as a wife, mother, author, and assistant property manager. Having dabbled in over a dozen languages and taken more than a handful of international trips, she expresses her fascination with people in the novels she writes. The relationships of her characters with each other and with themselves draw readers into her keen attentiveness to what it means to be human. She spins epic tales of love, humor, and struggle, but in the end, she is just another individual on this quest called life.

Contact Links

Website

Facebook

Twitter

Instagram

 

RABT Book Tours & PR

Spotlight & Excerpt: We Are The Fire + Giveaway

We Are the Fire Tour Banner-1

We Are the Fire
by Sam Taylor
Published by: Swoon Reads
Publication date: February 16th 2021
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult

As electrifying as it is heartbreaking, Sam Taylor’s explosive fantasy debut We Are the Fire is perfect for fans of An Ember in the Ashes and the legend of Spartacus.

In the cold, treacherous land of Vesimaa, children are stolen from their families by a cruel emperor, forced to undergo a horrific transformative procedure, and serve in the army as magical fire-wielding soldiers. Pran and Oksana―both taken from their homeland at a young age―only have each other to hold onto in this heartless place.

Pran dreams of one day rebelling against their oppressors and destroying the empire; Oksana only dreams of returning home and creating a peaceful life for them both.

When they discover the emperor has a new, more terrible mission than ever for their kind, Pran and Oksana vow to escape his tyranny once and for all. But their methods and ideals differ drastically, driving a wedge between them. Worse still, they both soon find that the only way to defeat the monsters that subjugated them may be to become monsters themselves.

Amazon / Barnes & Noble / iBooks / Kobo

Excerpt:

“How, Pran?” She pressed her head against his. “How will we do better?”
He wished he had an answer, a plan for how they could break from this fort. Leave it all behind and stay free, not be dragged back in chains and burned at stakes with a fire of their own creation. It hurt as much as his thigh, admitting he didn’t know, that all he had was hope.

But after seven years in this fort, hope was nothing to scoff at. Seven years surviving meant they were capable of so much more.

“We’ll find a way. You and I, we’ve always found a way. When we were Novices, you didn’t want to cast fire, but you learned it to teach me, so I’d stay alive. We’ll do that again but stronger, learn everything they demand from us as Hellions, and use all of it to turn this fort on its head. We’ll make our lives our own, and we’ll do it at each other’s side.”

Before he could talk himself out of it again, he plucked the ring from his pocket. It was silver, a thin band engraved with roses, poppies, yarrow, and peonies, exactly like the wreaths she’d talked of wearing at dance festivals with her mother and sister.

Oksana’s jaw dropped as he passed the ring to her. “Where did you get this?”
He’d stolen this ring during a mission last spring. He’d been sent out before nightfall, when the markets were still open, and while slinking through the shadows behind stalls, a silver gleam caught his eye. The moment he saw this ring, he wanted it for Oksana, something so clearly from her homeland.
Then he’d seen the words inside—in Horádimian, no less: Ya abetschayu. I promise.

A flush bloomed across Oksana’s cheeks as she caught sight of those words.

“You promise . . . what?”

That was what he hadn’t known for so long. How could he promise anything when he had no control over his life? But after tonight, this change in rank . . . he would not spend such power bending to the Commanders’ whims.

He lifted the ring from Oksana’s trembling hand, though his own shook so badly he could hardly slide the ring onto her finger. “I don’t know what our future holds.” He cupped her face in his hands, and only then did they go still.

“But I want to give us freedom. And I’d like to share it with you.”

She was silent for so long he feared he’d said the wrong thing. Perhaps these claims, this ring, were too absurd, too much this impossible night.

But then she leaned close until her breath fluttered like a moth against his jaw.

“That is a future worth fighting for.”

 

Author Bio:

Sam Taylor grew up in Arizona’s deserts and now lives among Connecticut’s trees. She spends her days writing, being mom to the world’s cutest boys, whirling through dance workouts, and baking too many cakes. She does not possess fire magic, but does have one fire-colored cat. We Are the Fire is her debut novel.

Website / Goodreads / Twitter

 

GIVEAWAY!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Hosted by:
XBTBanner1