Spotlight & Excerpt: Meraki + Giveaway

BANNER Meraki by Naomi Kelly TOUR

Welcome to the Magic Pen Book Tours‘ organized tour for Meraki: A Syren Story by Naomi Kelly taking place September 5-9, 2022!

Book Details

0 COVER MERAKI

Title: Meraki: A Syren Story

Series: Syren Stories #1

Author: Naomi Kelly

Genres: Young Adult Fantasy / Enemies-to-Lovers Romance, Mythology

Release date: May 1, 2020

Publisher: Indie published

Pages: 237

BLURB

Her song is a gift bestowed by the gods; so why does it feel like a curse?

Seventeen-year-old Wren thinks she has just swum away from the greatest threat in the sea. That’s until she finds herself being hauled upon a warlord’s boat. With her life at the mercy of a young, temperamental King, Wren must decide who is her ultimate enemy.

Can Fate be altered? What do gods have planned?

Syrens are bound to tell the truth, but that doesn’t mean their lives cannot be riddled with lies.

ADD TO GOODREADS

MERAKI IG promo 3

PURCHASE NOW!
Free with Kindle Unlimited

Meraki TWITTER-FB Teaser 4

EXCERPT

“Kellan,” I croak but he does not hear me. I barely hear myself over his raspy chanting.
He calls on the gods using their archaic, mostly forgotten prayers. The consecrated chant is mainly gibberish to my ringing ears, but a single word resonates within my core.
Meraki. The ancient concept of pouring a piece of your soul into something you cherish. He smears an old symbol onto my arm, over and over until I feel the movement even without him touching me.
I feel clammy against his heat, yet I do not move away. Maybe it’s because I am too weak. Maybe it’s because I don’t want to. I guess there are worse places to die. The babble of the town fades away until I hear nothing but Kellan.
Meraki.
Meraki.
Meraki.

My body shudders once, then I go limp in his hold.

Meraki IG Teaser 4

Author Bio

naomi-kelly

Naomi Kelly is an indie YA Fantasy author living in Dublin, Ireland. Her descriptive writing style and love for all things magic and mythology make reading her stories the perfect escape from modern-day life.
She began her writing journey in Sept. 2019 when she released her first book, ‘Trial by Obsidian’.

Her duology series of “Meraki: A Syren Story” and the sequel “Kairos: A Syren Story” follow sassy syren Wren, the sassy syren who has just swum away from home only to find herself at the mercy of the young warlord.

AUTHOR’S LINKS: INSTAGRAM | GOODREADS | FACEBOOK | AMAZON | BOOKBUB

Meraki IG Teaser 1

Instagram GIVEAWAY!

Visit and follow @naomikellywriting and @magicpenbooktours on Instagram to enter a giveaway for a chance to win a paperback copy of Meraki: A Syren Story by Naomi Kelly. Check out #MerakiBookTour on Instagram for more entries.


Tour Schedule

September 5

Magic Pen Book Tours / @magicpenbooktours – Kick-off post

Journey in Bookland / @lady.of.bookland – Review + Excerpt/Teaser

Celticlady’s Reviews – Excerpt

Sadie’s Spotlight / @sadiesspotlight – Excerpt/Teaser

September 6

The Romance Book Fairy / @the.romance.book.fairy – Review + Excerpt/Teaser

Jazzy Book Reviews / @jazzybookreviews – Excerpt/Teaser

Mrs_r_books – Spotlight

September 7

@starlight.pages – Review + Creative post

@jl_books – Spotlight

#BRVL Book Review Virginia Lee Blog / @bookreviewvirginialee – Excerpt/Teaser

September 8

@literarymegg – Review + Creative post

Momma Says to Read or not to Read / @mommasaystoread – Excerpt/Teaser

Books a Plenty Book Reviews – Excerpt

September 9

@itsabookthing2021 – Review

Valerie Ullmer | Romance Author – Excerpt

@natnavarro75 – Spotlight

Books Writing and Coffee / @bookswrittingandcoffee – Excerpt/Teaser

Meraki IG Teaser 3

Thank you for stopping by, remember to visit other tour stops and enter the Instagram giveaway!

Tour organized by:
Magic Pen Book Tours logo

Spotlight: Beguiled, by Cyla Panin

Beguiled Banner

Beguiled cover

Beguiled
by Cyla Panin
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy
Publishing Date: August 23, 2022

A dark and enthralling story about a young woman who makes a deal with a spirit to try and gain her independence—and the twisted price she has to pay for it

Ella is a 17-year-old weaver whose entire livelihood depends on her loom. She dreams of opening her own shop, but when her father died in debtor’s prison, she had to support herself by taking whatever clients she could get. In order to buy her supplies she goes into debt of her own, and when her loom breaks, Ella realizes she needs more help than a repairperson can give her. She, like everyone, has heard about the old washerwoman spirit called the Bean-Nighe who will grant any one wish—for a price.

But Ella is desperate, so she asks the Bean-Nighe to fix her loom. And it works. The loom is fixed, and she’s creating beautiful pieces she could have never imagined before. All she has to do is feed the loom a drop of blood each time she weaves—a small price to pay for such magnificent silks. And when she brings two bolts to a rich client, she meets a mysterious young man named Callum and bargains for an invitation to his exclusive party. At that party, he’s so mesmerized by her talent, he offers Ella a place to live and patronage for her art. It seems like Ella’s fortune is finally turning for the better . . . until she begins to notice the loom taking more from her than she offered.

As she becomes entangled in the lives of the city’s rich, swept into Callum’s allure, and trapped by the Bean-Nighe’s magic, Ella must figure out a way to secure her future while she still has a future at all.

Content Warning: mild self-harm, gaslighting and emotional abuse

Goodreads
Amazon
Barnes & Noble
Book Depository
Indigo
IndieBound


About the Author:
Cyla Panin is an MG, YA and Adult Author who prefers to look at the world through a dusting of magic.

After spending most of her childhood wanting to escape into the wonderful worlds her favourite authors created, she’s now using her own words to craft magical places. When not writing, Cyla can be found playing dinosaurs with her two young boys, watching swashbuckling and/or period TV shows with her husband, and, of course, reading.

Her YA debut, STALKING SHADOWS will be out with Amulet, Abrams Fall 2021. She is represented by Chloe Seager of the Madeleine Milburn Literary, TV, and Film Agency.

Cyla Panin author photo

Website
Twitter
Instagram
Goodreads

Tour Schedule

 

Spotlight & Opening Lines: Violet Made of Thorns, by Gina Chen

VMOT Banner

Violet Made of Thorns

Violet Made of Thorns
(Violet Made of Thorns Duology #1)
by Gina Chen
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy Romance
Publishing Date: July 26, 2022

A darkly enchanting fantasy debut about a morally gray witch, a cursed prince, and a prophecy that ignites their fate-twisted destinies—perfect for fans of The Cruel Prince and Serpent & Dove.

Violet is a prophet and a liar, influencing the royal court with her cleverly phrased—and not always true—divinations. Honesty is for suckers, like the oh-so-not charming Prince Cyrus, who plans to strip Violet of her official role once he’s crowned at the end of the summer—unless Violet does something about it.

But when the king asks her to falsely prophesy Cyrus’s love story for an upcoming ball, Violet awakens a dreaded curse, one that will end in either damnation or salvation for the kingdom—all depending on the prince’s choice of future bride. Violet faces her own choice: Seize an opportunity to gain control of her own destiny, no matter the cost, or give in to the ill-fated attraction that’s growing between her and Cyrus.

Violet’s wits may protect her in the cutthroat court, but they can’t change her fate. And as the boundary between hatred and love grows ever thinner with the prince, Violet must untangle a wicked web of deceit in order to save herself and the kingdom—or doom them all.

Goodreads
Amazon
Barnes & Noble
Book Depository
Indigo
IndieBound


Opening Lines:

Today, Prince Cyrus returns to the capital with a bride, or else.

From the Seer’s Tower, the tallest point in the Sun Capital, I can see a train of purple banners fluttering amid the fields outside the city–the royal caravan making the steep approach to the south gates. Cordoned-off crowds pack the streets, waiting to welcome their prince home. Six months have passed since Cyrus departed to tour the continent, since he set out to “seek from the land and its generous people all the wisdom” that he could not learn in a palace.


About the Author:

Gina Chen tells stories about fantastic worlds featuring heroines, antiheroines, and the kind of cleverness that brings trouble in its wake. A self-taught artist with a degree in computer science, she generates creative nonsense in all forms of media and always has a project stewing. Violet Made of Thorns is her debut fantasy novel. For more info, visit actualgina.com and follow @actualgina on Twitter and Instagram.

Gina Chen

Website
Twitter
Instagram
Goodreads
Tumblr

Tour Schedule

Scroll Up