Spotlight & Excerpt: Ship to Nowhere + Giveaway

ship to nowhere banner

Ship to Nowhere

A Sinbad and the Seven Seas Retelling

The Clockwork FaerieTale Novellas Book 4

by Jes Drew

Genre: Steampunk Romantic Fairytale Retelling

 

The inauguration year of Queen Victoria sees a world where the seven seas are yet un-mapped and filled with mystery . . .

Sindbad had room in his heart for one love: the sea. Unlike women, the sea would never betray him, and it was never hard to determine the ocean’s mood. The sea kept things simple; just him and his men traveling the globe and discovering new territory for Her Majesty the Queen. But his newest cabin boy is hiding a secret that could derail Sindbad’s carefully charted course . . .

Dunyazad is running out of time to rescue her sister from the murderous tyrant she has fallen into the clutches of. With the well of stories keeping Scheherazade alive going dry, Dunyazad decides to have an adventure of her own to be spun into a tale long enough to last until she find a powerful ally that will rescue her sister once and for all. But her tenuous plan depends on her keeping her true identity— and gender— a secret from the misogynistic captain or else risk being stranded on a deserted island. If only the man weren’t so infuriating, or handsome . . .

Falling in love may be the most dangerous adventure of all to be found on the Seven Seas.

The Clockwork Faerie Tale Novella series can be read as standalones or together, for whenever you want your steampunk happily ever after.

**Only .99 cents!!**

Goodreads * Amazon


ship no nowhere excerpt

Clearing his throat, Sindbad straightens and clears his throat. So, this is to be the woman he must face the rest of his life with. And he doesn’t even get to see her face before exchanging vows.
The entourage reaches him, and all the maids disperse to the right or the left, save the woman in white. She comes to stand before him.
“Stretch out your right hands,” the priest demands.
After trying to catch some view of her through the veil, Sindbad gives up and holds out his hand just as she stretches out her much daintier, gloved appendage.
The priest ties a red sash around Sindbad’s wrist, twists it around his hand, and then twists it around the maid’s gloved hand before securing it on her wrist.
“Speak the first vow,” the priest orders.
Sindbad startles. Does the priest just assume he knows their wedding vows?
“The first of seven,” he adds.
This startles Sindbad still more. Would these Seven Vows be the same vows germane of the wedding ceremonies of India? Are these people the descendants of Indians, come here long ago and still clinging to their most sacred of traditions, passed down from a previous age?
“I will offer you food and be helpful in every way,” breathes the woman in white in a soft voice.
That part sounds familiar. Racking his mind, Sindbad remembers the counter vow. “I will cherish you and provide welfare and happiness to you and our children.”
This appears to be acceptable to the priest. “Second vow.”
Sindbad clears his throat, which has gone strangely tight. “Together we will protect our house and children.”
A voice far sweeter and more reverent than his responds. “I will be by your side as your courage and strength. I will rejoice in your happiness. In return, you will love me solely.”
Sindbad’s knees start to buckle. This is becoming far too real. He was anticipating a pagan ceremony that held no meaning to him. Not vows that, though pagan in origin, were sanctioned by the Queen of England herself as legally binding to all who swore by them.
“Third vow.”
Clutching the red tie in his hands, Sindbad continues. “May we grow wealthy and prosperous and strive for the future of our children.”
“I will love you solely for the rest of my life, as you are my husband. Every other man in my life will be secondary. I vow to remain chaste.”
“Fourth vow.”
Sindbad closes his eyes to hide from the panic and try to stop himself from imagining that it is Dahro he is speaking to. “May we be blessed with noble and obedient children.”
The sweet, innocent voice finds him even in the darkness. “I will shower you with joy, from head to toe. I will strive to please you in every way I can.”
“Fifth vow.”
His very tongue is heavy now, but he knows what is required of him. “You are my best friend, and my staunchest well-wisher. You have come into my life, enriching it. God bless you.”
Her voice is faltering as well, Sindbad notices. “I promise to love you and cherish you for as long as I live. Your happiness is my happiness, and your sorrow is my sorrow. I will trust and honor you and will strive to fulfill all your wishes.”
“Sixth vow.” The priest’s voice is like a battering ram on Sindbad’s aching head. Is this what Rani felt when he wed her to Aladdin? This great fear and dread and commitment beyond what she could have ever anticipated?
Sindbad licks his dry lips. “Now that you have taken six steps with me, you have filled my heart with immense happiness. Will you do the kindness of filling my heart with happiness like this for all times?”
This time, the bride’s words come out clear and strong, steady and sure. “I will always be by your side.”
“Seventh vow.”
Sindbad forces his eyes open to be a man and face his fate, this woman and white, while he seals their future. “We are now husband and wife and are one. You are mine and I am yours for eternity.”
“As God is witness, I am now your wife. We will love, honor, and cherish each other forever.”
“You are now bound.


Jes Drew is the author of the Ninja and Hunter trilogy, the Howling Twenty trilogy, the Kristian Clark saga, the Castaways trilogy, The Dystopian Takeover trilogy, The Clockwork Faerie Tale Novellas, The Summers of Yesteryear series, Legends of the Master Spy, The New ESE Files, Tales from Parallel Worlds, Genie and Serena, PIs, Accidentally on the Run, and This Side of Heaven. Her true love is Captain Steve Rogers, and there is a possibility that she may or may not be a superhuman, but she hasn’t discovered her powers. Yet. Also, she might be a spy, but that’s classified.

Website * Instagram * Newsletter * Youtube * Amazon * Goodreads


Follow the tour HERE for special content and a giveaway!

Signed Copy of Ship To Nowhere with exclusive pins of the previous three books (US Only),

$20 Amazon giftcard (WW),

– 1 winner each!

Cover Reveal: Merry Misfits, by Cambria Hebert

merry misfit banner

Merry Misfits
by Cambria Hebert
(House of Misfits, #5)
Publication date: December 10th 2021
Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Fairy Tales, Retelling, Romance

Once upon a time…
A lost prince was robbed of the magic of the holiday season.
Ribbons, glitter, tree-trimming, and love all denied for hateful reasons.
What once was lost is now wondrously found.
And, naturally, holiday shenanigans will abound.
New York City is blanketed in pure white snow,
the perfect date night setting to make your heart grow.
Beneath the twinkling lights, the scent of fresh pine mingles,
and the warmth of chocolate-filled mugs chase away any grinchy-grinch tingles.
Zip up your coat and tug on your hat
because spending this holiday season with your favorite misfits is where it’s at.
For even the grumpiest grump of the bunch will have to admit
‘tis the season to be a merry misfit.

Experience the magic of New York City at Christmas with Fletcher and the rest of the misfit family as they create family traditions and memories through special dates and holiday fun.
Be prepared for lots of fluff, laughter, grumbling grumps, swoony romance, and surprises!
Merry Misfits is a special House of Misfits holiday novella featuring the entire misfit family
and is told in alternating POVs from some of your favorites.
Merry Misfits is approximately 48,000 words and is book five in the series.

Add to Goodreads

Author Bio:

Cambria Hebert is an award winning, bestselling novelist of more than twenty books. She went to college for a bachelor’s degree, couldn’t pick a major, and ended up with a degree in cosmetology. So rest assured her characters will always have good hair.

Besides writing, Cambria loves a caramel latte, staying up late, sleeping in, and watching movies. She considers math human torture and has an irrational fear of chickens (yes, chickens). You can often find her running on the treadmill (she’d rather be eating a donut), painting her toenails (because she bites her fingernails), or walking her chorkie (the real boss of the house).

Cambria has written within the young adult and new adult genres, penning many paranormal and contemporary titles. Her favorite genre to read and write is romantic suspense. A few of her most recognized titles are: The Hashtag Series, Text, Torch, and Tattoo.

Cambria Hebert owns and operates Cambria Hebert Books, LLC.

You can find out more about Cambria and her titles by visiting her website..

Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter / Instagram / Pinterest

 

Hosted by:
XBTBanner1

Spotlight: Creation, by Bjørn Larssen

creation_larssen_banner

 

Creation by Bjørn Larssen
Series: Why Odin Drinks (#1)
Published: August 18, 2021
Genre: Humorous Fantasy, Satire Norse Mythology retelling
Pages: 84
CW: Contains the word “ass-thetics”
POSSIBLE ULTIMATE TOUR EXPERIENCE TICKETS: Valhalla Awaits, Bring On The Magic, Simply Mythical

 

In the beginning there was confusion.

Ever woken up being a God, but not knowing how to God properly? Your brothers keep creating mosquitoes and celery and other, more threatening weapons. What can your ultimate answer be – the one that will make you THE All-Father and them, at best, the All-Those-Uncles-We-All-Have-But-Don’t-Talk-About?

“FML! The answer’s why I drink!” – Odin

Perfect for fans of Terry Pratchett, Neil Gaiman, Thomas Hobbes of Malmesbury, and Mrs Brown’s Boys.

Goodreads / Buy

odin_fml

Author Info

Bjørn Larssen is a Norse heathen made in Poland, but mostly located in a Dutch suburb, except for his heart which he lost in Iceland. Born in 1977, he self-published his first graphic novel at the age of seven in a limited edition of one, following this achievement several decades later with his first book containing multiple sentences and winning awards he didn’t design himself. His writing is described as ‘dark’ and ‘literary’, but he remains incapable of taking anything seriously for more than 60 seconds.

Bjørn has a degree in mathematics and has worked as a graphic designer, a model, a bartender, and a blacksmith (not all at the same time). His hobbies include sitting by open fires, dressing like an extra from Vikings, installing operating systems, and dreaming about living in a log cabin in the north of Iceland. He owns one (1) husband and is owned by one (1) neighbourhood cat.

–

Bjorn_Larssen

Website
Twitter
Instagram
Facebook

creation_banner-hosts

Scroll Up