Spotlight & Giveaway: The Frequency, by Terry Kitto

the frequency banner

frequency book cover

The Frequency: A Mind-Bending Paranormal Thriller
(The Imprint Quintet Book 1)
by Terry Kitto
Pennard Press
Out July 30, 2021

Death wasn’t an absolute end, but a further form of being.

Deep within the bowels of an abandoned Cornish mine a covert occult group, known as the Network, protects the living from the dead. Their mediums host a plethora of abilities — from telepathy to astral projection — because of their connection to an energy source called the frequency.

Fifteen-year-old Rasha Abadi and her mother are Syrian refugees granted leave to remain in Gorenn Village. The seaside town sprawls with beaches and idyllic coves, but the last thing Rasha finds there is peace. An impossible shadow visits her nightly and infests her mind with memories of the chaos that she and her mother fled in Syria. When she becomes possessed by the shadow, the Network intervenes to save her.

The shadow’s wrath knows no bounds and orchestrates a string of interconnected possessions across the south coast. Having survived the shadow, Rasha eagerly offers to aid the Network’s investigation. They must all act quickly to unearth its motive before it disrupts the balance between the living and the dead, and forges a new world from the embers of their own reality.

No choice will be easy for Rasha when thwarting a monster means becoming one herself.

The Frequency is a paranormal thriller exploring grief in a world where death is just the beginning and where reality can be rewritten. Fans of Stephen King and James Herbert will enjoy this mind-bending, paranormal thriller with LGBTQ+ and POC characters.

This is book one in The Imprint Quintet series, a five-part saga following a rag-tag group of mediums as they attempt to thwart an otherworldly tyrant from unleashing paranormal terrorism.

Book Links:
Goodreads
Amazon

Author Bio:
Born and raised in Cornwall, England, Terry Kitto is never found without reading a book or penning one of his own. Teaching himself to write screenplays in Sixth Form, he took his creativity to Film School at Falmouth University. There he wrote the first draft of biopic Christopher’s Queen and studied postmodernism in long running television series’, earning a First Class with Honours. He further developed his television writing skills at the University of Salford, with a PGDip in TV and Radio Scriptwriting.

In February 2015 he won the award for Best Writer at the New York 100 Hour Film Contest with the short Can You See Me? and was shortlisted for the BBC’s Writers Room 2016 with comedy-drama Brunswick House.

The Frequency, part one of The Imprint Quintet, is Terry’s debut novel.

Terry Kitto - Author Photo

Author Links:
Website
Instagram
Twitter


Giveaway:
– 1 x Paperback Copy of The Frequency
– 1 x Limited Edition signed, silver foiled bookplate
– 1 x Poster (Receptor Gadget Blueprint)
– 2 x Frequency Bookmarks
– 1 x Pin Badge

The Frequency

Direct Link

Spotlight & Excerpt: Gathering of the Four + Giveaway

gathering of the four banner

gathering of the four Cover

Gathering of the Four
Serrulata Saga, #1
by A.E Bennett
April 2, 2021

“In the Realm, every citizen knows their place.”

Leora of Mae is a young woman orphaned at birth and raised on a remote farm. As a wielder of Xanthcraft, her abilities set her apart from her adoptive family and the other villagers.

Shortly before her twentieth birthday, she learns of her family’s plot to sell her into servitude. Fearing for her life, she flees from the only home she’s ever known—defying societal conventions and breaking the edicts of the Realm.

As she runs, Leora meets Roland Shallowbrook, a traveler on the Thieves’ Road; Lady Aurora Verte, daughter of a powerful member of the gentry; and the White Rider Leopold, a soldier with a secret.

Together, this found family will have to band together to survive.

Set in the distant future during the return of the Hale-Bopp comet, Gathering of the Four is the first book in The Serrulata Saga.

Goodreads / Amazon


Excerpt

Two things happened at the beginning of the 330th year of the Realm: a brilliant comet with two tails

—one yellow and one blue—appeared in the sky, and the sovereign of the Realm died.

Neither of these events directly affected Leora of Mae, but she couldn’t help but tilt her gaze upward at the myste- rious celestial body that was visible even during daylight. She made her way toward the run-down cabin she called home, struggling as she slogged a full bucket of water in both of her chapped hands.

“You stupid, stupid girl! Quit dawdling and get over here!”

She heard the voice before she saw the woman, which was usually the case. It was a voice that grated and was


Other Books in the series:

Yours and Mine
Serrulata Saga Prequel
by A.E. Bennett

She told a lie. He confirmed it. Now they’re secretly betrothed against their families’ wishes…

Lady Octavia Dorchester is the most desired young lady in the Realm. Now that she has twenty years behind her, society has deemed her ready to marry. Although she’s not enthusiastic, she promises to act like a proper lady and look for a good husband—just like her powerful father Lord Roman Dorchester wants.

Lord Gerald Verte has been painfully shy his entire life. He’s never been comfortable in society and lives in the shadow of his older brother, the imposing Lord Tristian Verte. Despite his desires to remain indoors and away from people, he promises his older brother that he won’t shame the family name, no matter how much his anxiety threatens to overwhelm him.

After sharing a dance at a ball held in Octavia’s honor, both she and Gerald know what no one else believes—it’s love at first sight.

When their respective family members object to the match, Octavia lies about their betrothal and Gerald corroborates her story. Raising the ire of both Lords Dorchester and Verte, Octavia and Gerald are torn apart and kept from one another until tragedy strikes.

This high-heat romance with a guaranteed HEA is a prequel to Gathering of the Four: Book One of the Serrulata Saga but can be read as a standalone.


Author Bio
A.E. Bennett (she/her) lives in Washington, D.C.
She is originally from North Carolina.

Author Links:
Website
Instagram
Twitter


Giveaway
Autographed hardback copy of Gathering of the Four.

Gathering of the Four

Direct Link

Spotlight & Excerpt: .exe + Giveaway

dot exe banner

 

dot exe

.exe
A Cadence Turing Mystery
Robin Jeffrey
320 Pages
Sci-fi, mystery
Published October 5, 2021

Chance Hale is more interested in running around with fascinating women than following in his father’s footsteps as head of the billion-dollar tech company Halcyon Enterprises. Called home for an important announcement, Chance seeks to liven up the weekend retreat by bringing along the first interesting woman he finds: an alluring young lady named Cadence Turing, who claims to be visiting his home planet, Arrhidaeus, from the planet Paraesepe.

But when someone turns up murdered, all evidence points to Chance, and all ideas of a future for him are erased. Of all the house’s guests, his weekend companion seems to believe she can prove his innocence, though she’s hesitant to admit how. Can the two help each other before it’s too late?

GookreadsAmazon


Excerpt:

To be human is to know that one day you will die; there will come a time when you stop, like a ball hitting a bank of snow. Until we acquire this knowledge, we’re some half-things, fairy-like in our innocence, powerful, but not altogether human. This is why many adults find children so disquieting.

I didn’t become human until the night my mother died. I was seven. I snuck into her room, the adults downstairs talking in the hushed voices death always brings in its wake. I crawled up onto her bed and touched her arm. She was pale and cold; eyes still open, but empty of anything that I recognized as my mother.

That was not my mother. I wondered if it had ever been, or if it had ever been anything other than a shell; I began to wonder what I was. Every morning I woke, wondering, and today was no different. The hotel room reeked of smoke, sweat, and mold, a tangy, sweet mixture that choked me when I gulped down the rancid air.


Author Bio:
robin jeffrey author

Author Links:
Website
Twitter @TheSidekick
TikTok
Instagram
Goodreads


Giveaway:
We will have 6 prize winners!

– 2 physical copies of .exe: A Cadence Turing Mystery
– 2 Kindle ebook copies of .exe: A Cadence Turing Mystery
– 2 Audible audiobook copies of .exe: A Cadence Turing Mystery

This giveaway would be limited to those readers in the United States.

.exe Cadence Turing Mystery

Direct Link

Scroll Up