Spotlight & Excerpt: Dead Blood City + Giveaway

DEAD BLOOD CITY banner

I am thrilled to be hosting a spot on the DEAD BLOOD CITY by Jo Denning Blog Tour hosted by Rockstar Book Tours. Check out my post and make sure to enter the giveaway!

Title: DEAD BLOOD CITY: A Saoirse Reilly Novel
(Saoirse Reilly, #1)

Author: Jo Denning

Pub. Date: April 12, 2022

Publisher: Leabhar & Fola Publishing House

Formats: Paperback, eBook

Pages: 333

Find it: GoodreadsAmazon, Kindle Read for FREE with a Kindle Unlimited Membership!

Dead Blood City will be the Kindle Select free book promotion from 4/12 12 AM PDT through 4/16 11:59 PM PDT. So the Kindle ebook will be free for everyone during that time.

 

“An urban fantasy of the finest quality. Fascinating and entertaining!” – Readers’ Favorite

“Drowning might be like going to sleep. It would be nice to sleep forever – leave everything behind in the waking world.”

Detective Saoirse Reilly commits to finding a missing child before dying by suicide. While investigating the kidnapping of Delaney Bascom, she is snared in the supernatural underbelly of Boston, Massachusetts. She will have to face her demons if she hopes to bring the girl home.

Reilly has the dubious support of Emrys Somerled, a forensic psychologist with a cellar full of secrets, and Domenico Alderisi, an impossibly youthful club owner with a bad habit. Meet these suspicious characters and more alongside Reilly as she begins to see the world for what it really is.

The blood moon is coming.

Will Reilly save the girl and find a reason to live?


Excerpt:

Chapter 12: When Bones Rise.

Sunlight warmed my body and the briny sea air prickled my nose. A calling dragged at my breastbone. It turned me down a narrow alley banked by condos of red brick and cream trim. I sprinted down the alleyway, afraid to lose the scent. The buildings caging me in were barren and hollow, strange for this part of town. There were no signs of life in the shaded windows or empty balconies.
That was when I saw her. Her russet eyes met mine, large as a hunted doe, corneas clouded by death. Time slowed and my body went numb. Ringlets formed a halo around her tawny face. Her body was bloody and bare as Lilith driven from Eden.
“Clara?”
Startling, she ran for the building at the end of the alley. Dark coils floated after her like mist on the water.
“Clara! Wait!”
She was fast for a dead woman. Clara threw open the front door and bolted inside. I raced after her, tripping over a chair she knocked into my path. My knees hit the ground hard.
She was gone in the time it took me to stand.
I drew my weapon, inching into the unlit condo. The place was a wreck. Curtains and newspaper blocked the summer sun from entering through the arched windows. The furniture looked like it’d been thrown around by a tornado. It smelled like blood and piss.
What the fuck had happened in here? And how had nobody noticed?
I tried to move silently but even my soft steps were audible on the hardwood flooring. I was in the neglected kitchen, dust and dried blood covering the granite counters, when I heard a creaking floorboard overhead. My head tilted toward the ceiling and I heard it again. I turned back into the entryway, making my way upstairs.
The second floor had fared no better than the rest of the condo. Blood was smeared across the walls and one of the bedroom doors had been torn off the hinges. Splinters of wood jutted out of the doorframe. I crept toward the master, training my weapon on the door.
After a brief internal debate, I called out to her again. “Clara! I just want to talk.”
The door screeched open and, against my better judgment, I shouldered my way into the room.
The state of the bedroom shocked me to stillness.


 

About Jo Denning:

Jo Denning is the author of the Saoirse Reilly series. She has spent her career as a behavioral health therapist supporting kids and teens who struggle with addiction. Jo began writing supernatural crime thrillers as a way of processing the traumatic things she has seen and heard. Her characters may be supernatural but their stories, their fear, and their pain are real. So, too, are their triumphs over impossible odds.

When she’s not writing, Jo enjoys baking, drawing, and watching trashy reality TV. She makes her home somewhere in the contiguous United States with her husband, one fluffy cat, and one barely domesticated cat.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | TikTok | Goodreads | Amazon | BookBub


Giveaway Details:

2 winners will receive a DEAD BLOOD CITY box which includes a finished copy of DEAD BLOOD CITY, stickers and bookmarks, US Only.

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Tour Schedule:

Week One:

4/11/2022

Two Chicks on Books

Excerpt

4/11/2022

@jaimerockstarbooktours

IG Post

4/12/2022

Jazzy Book Reviews

Excerpt/IG Post

4/12/2022

Writer of Wrongs

Guest Post

4/13/2022

BookHounds

Guest Post/IG Post

4/13/2022

#BRVL Book Review Virginia Lee Blog

Excerpt

4/14/2022

Sadie’s Spotlight

Excerpt/IG Post

4/14/2022

Lady Hawkeye

Excerpt /IG Post

4/15/2022

BETTER_0FF_READ

IG Spotlight

4/15/2022

Ravenz Reviewz

Excerpt /IG Post

Week Two:

4/18/2022

boozybook blog

Review/IG Post

4/18/2022

Rajiv’s Reviews

Review/IG Post

4/19/2022

Two Points of Interest

Review

4/19/2022

@jypsylynn

Review

4/20/2022

Excuse Me, I’m Reading

Review

4/20/2022

TakeALookAtMyBookshelf

Review

4/21/2022

Emmiepooh2

Review

4/21/2022

The Momma Spot

Review

4/22/2022

Lifestyle of Me

Review

4/22/2022

@coffeesipsandreads

Review/TikTok Post

 

Spotlight: A Plethora of Phantoms, by Penny Hampson

A Plethora of Phantoms banner

 

A Plethora of Phantoms front cover

A Plethora of Phantoms
by Penny Hampson
Publication date: Dec 20, 2021
Paranormal Suspense

What makes Freddie shiver? Is it the spooky happenings in his family’s stately home? Or is it Marcus, the handsome antique dealer who Freddie thinks he can’t have?

Freddie Lanyon has it all: a loving family, a privileged background, and a stately home filled with antiques. What his family don’t know is that Freddie is desperately unhappy.

Troubled by spirits that only he can see, Freddie Lanyon, the heir to Lanyon Park, is also in denial about his sexuality. It takes a meeting with handsome and psychic antique dealer, Marcus Spender, to convince Freddie that he might need to change.

When Freddie’s latest purchase of an antique dressing case triggers fresh poltergeist activity, he is awakened each night by an anguished spirit seeking help. Contacting the previous owner of the dressing case leads Freddie and Marcus on a journey to Cornwall, but what starts out as a straightforward quest soon turns into a challenge to their growing relationship.

Will Freddie’s restless spectral visitor be finally laid to rest? And will Freddie find the courage to be true to himself at last?

Purchase Link


Author Bio 

Penny Hampson Some time ago Penny Hampson decided to follow her passion for history by studying with the Open University. She graduated with honours and went on to complete a post-graduate degree.

Penny then landed her dream role, working in an environment where she was surrounded by rare books and historical manuscripts. Flash forward nineteen years, and the opportunity came along to indulge her other main passion – writing. Penny joined the New Writers’ Scheme of the Romantic Novelists’ Association and three years later published her debut novel, A Gentleman’s Promise, a historical mystery/romance. Other books in the same genre soon followed.

But never happy in a rut, Penny also writes contemporary suspense with paranormal and romantic elements. Her first book in this genre is The Unquiet Spirit, published by Darkstroke.

Penny lives with her family in Oxfordshire, and when she is not writing, she enjoys reading, walking, swimming, and the odd gin and tonic (not all at the same time).

For more on Penny’s writing, visit her blog.
Twitter: @penny_hampson
Facebook

A Plethora of Phantoms Full Tour Banner

Spotlight: Third Wheel + Giveaway

Third-Wheel-banner

This is my stop during the blog tour for Third Wheel by Kat Green. Third Wheel is the third book in the Haunts for Sale series, that follows paranormal real estate agent Sloane Osborne who sells haunted houses. Get ready for plenty of ghosts, mystery, suspense and romance.

Third Wheel banner
Third Wheel
(Haunts for Sale #3)
By Kat Green
Ghost Fiction/ Paranormal Romantic Suspense
Age category: Adult
Release Date: 9 September 2020

Sloane Osbourne, paranormal real-estate agent, receives a frantic call from another agent injured by a ghost. She races to help but instead she discovers she’s the victim of blackmail. Things go from bad to worse when she learns FBI agent Jonah Prescott is missing. With time running out to save her job, she rushes to Las Vegas to search for the man she loves. In Vegas she frantically hunts for Jonah only to find him and lose him again. Not knowing if her one true love is dead or alive, she heads back to St. Louis. There, events take another turn. With an enemy dogging her footsteps, she needs to salvage her business and prevent Jonah from becoming a ghost himself.

This is Book Three in the Haunts for Sale Series chronicling the adventures of Sloane Osbourne, paranormal real-estate agent.

Big Series Discount!
The whole Haunts for Sale series is discounted for the duration of this tour! You can get all 3 books for only 99 cents each! Grab the series here:
Amazon
Barnes & Noble
Kobo
Apple
Scribd

You can also find Third Wheel on Goodreads

 

Earlier books in the series:

First ContactSecond Sight

First Contact (Haunts for Sale #1) by Kat Green
“Sloane Osborne is a paranormal realtor in the business of selling haunted houses but, in truth, she’s only searching for one ghost.”Links:
Goodreads
Amazon
Barnes & Noble
Kobo
Apple

Second Sight (Haunts for Sale #2) by Kat Green
“Paranormal real estate agent, Sloane Osborne sells haunted houses. And she’s getting quite good at it.”Links:
Goodreads
Amazon
Barnes & Noble
Kobo
Apple

Kat GreenAbout the Author:
Kat Green is the alias of authors KAT de Falla and Rachel GREEN.

Rachel Green has always believed in ghosts but saw her first full body apparition while working at an old movie theater in college. When she met Kat de Falla at a writer’s workshop, she knew she’d met a kindred spirit – one who was also sensitive to the hereafter. And after bonding on a few ghost adventures, Kat Green was born.

Kat de Falla lived in a haunted house for too long. When things really heated up, she had several paranormal teams investigate, but things only got worse. When her mother suggested they contact a shaman, she agreed to come, saying she had been waiting for Kat’s call. The home was cleansed and sold. When she paired up with Rachel Green, the idea of co-writing a book with a paranormal real estate agent seemed perfect.

Fans of Ghost Adventures, The Dead Files, Ghosthunters, and the movie Ghost will love this series!

You can find and contact Kat here:
Website
Facebook
Twitter
Instagram
Goodreads
Amazon

Giveaway
There is a tour-wide giveaway for the blog tour of Third Wheel. One winner will win either a 3-month audible subscription or a $45 Amazon gift card, winner’s choice. Open International.

For a chance to win, enter the rafflecopter below:
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Lola's Blog Tours graphic

This blog tour is organized by Lola’s Blog Tours. The blog tour runs from 27 November till 18 December. See the tour schedule here. And check out the tour-wide giveaway.

Scroll Up